Baby gift: dress, bloomers, headband

2013-02-12-dress-gift

One of my closest friends had a beautiful baby girl last month! When she announced her pregnancy I knew I wanted to make a gift by hand for an extra special treat. This dress has been done since October but I didn’t want to reveal it until after the baby was born.

2013-02-12-dress-pattern

I chose New Look 6168, but decided to omit the applique and add a full lining. The dress fabric is a zigzag print cotton and the lining is a dotted red cotton, both from the Jo-Ann Fabrics kids section.

2013-02-12-dress-front-back

It’s a sleeveless A-line dress with an invisible zip closure and matching diaper cover. I made it in size Medium, which I’m guessing means about 6-9 months, so the baby can wear it this summer. If it fits her sooner though, I bet it’d be cute over a long-sleeve onesie and tights.

2013-02-12-dress-details

The finishing touches turned out really well. I learned a new clean finish bodice lining technique and used matching red bias binding to finish the hem. Hopefully these details not only look nice, but also help keep the dress in good shape for many years.

2013-02-12-dress-headband

The final part of the gift was based on this pleated headband tutorial. It took only a few minutes to make and I had the buttons and elastic already on hand. I totally guessed about the size, so hopefully it’ll fit!

Congratulations to my friend and her husband, and best wishes for the new parent adjustment period. Can’t wait to see pictures of baby girl all dressed up!

4 thoughts on “Baby gift: dress, bloomers, headband

    • Aww thank you Kate! I love the way you lined yours, with the peekaboo hem. So cute! As for mine, the baby’s mom reports that the dress size was right on target, but the diaper cover was too big (she uses disposables). I forgot to ask about the headband size, should do that before making any more.

Leave a Reply

