Jo’s Brownies

2013-02-03-brownies

Can you believe there aren’t any sweet recipes on this blog yet? Any of my friends can tell you that I have a huge sweet tooth — my strategy to achieve a balanced and happy life is to eat tons of veggies and also tons of sweets. Today I’m bringing brownies to a Superbowl party, so it’s a good time to share my very favorite recipe.

When it comes to brownies, I vote for fudgy all the way. As I’ve heard others say, if I wanted cake I’d bake cake, but brownies are meant to be dense and dark and rich! And that’s exactly how these are. I don’t know who Jo was, but my grandma always used her recipe to make these dark, fudgy, frosted brownies. Other recipes may be delicious too, but this one will always remain my favorite.

2013-02-03-brownies-closeup

Jo’s Brownie Recipe

Brownies:

  • 2 1-oz squares unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1 stick (8 Tbsp) butter (I use salted)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease or spray an 8×8″ baking dish. Melt chocolate and butter in a small skillet. In mixing bowl, combine sugar and chocolate mixture; cream together. Beat in eggs. Stir in salt, flour, and vanilla. Bake for 25 minutes. Ice when cool.

Icing:

  • 1 1-oz square unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar

Melt chocolate and butter in the same small skillet as before. Remove from heat. Alternately stir in powdered sugar and milk bit by bit, making sure to squish any clumps for a smooth and glossy result. Pour over top of cooled brownies and spread smooth. The icing needs to set a few hours before cutting and serving so that it’s solid instead of gloppy. Sometimes I put the whole pan in the fridge to make it set faster.

Note: Make 1.5 recipes to fill a 7×11″ pan, or double recipe for a 9×13″ pan. Honestly, I almost always double this recipe. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Jo’s Brownies

  1. these brownies are haunting me. i don’t believe i’ve had them, but i trust your judgement and your pictures. i think these shall be a valentine’s day/IVF transfer day treat for the cville household. yes.

    • Whaaaat — I can’t believe I haven’t made these for you! Your plan sounds perfect. Every last one was eaten when I brought them to the party Sunday, so I hope you and M&E love them too :) Is her transfer day really on Valentine’s Day? Good omens.

      • well to be fair i was probably shunning sweets anytime you were near enough for me to devour a batch…

        it is on valentine’s day! pushed one day up from the 15th. we were hoping to have it the same day as A’s transfer, but this holiday works well for good omens too.

Leave a Reply

