One-skillet pork chops with sauteed apples and onions

2013-01-14-pork-chops-apples

I’ve finally found my go-to recipe for the classic combination of pork and apples. And it’s all done in one pan, which is great for easy cleanup. My version is inspired by these oven pork chops with sauteed apples but I adapted it to omit the oven and add some of my favorite flavors. I love using the fresh thyme that grows year-round in my balcony garden!

One-Skillet Pork Chops with Sauteed Apples and Onions (serves 2)

  • 2 thick boneless pork chops
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic powder
  • dried oregano
  • dried thyme
  • flour
  • butter
  • 1 apple (I like Honeycrisp) cored and sliced into eighths
  • 1/4 large onion, sliced
  • 2 sprigs fresh thyme, chopped (more sprigs for garnish)
  • sherry (or hard cider)

Season chops to taste with salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, and dried thyme, and dust with flour. Melt a little butter in a skillet on medium-high, then add the chops. Pan-fry both sides until browned and cooked through. Remove to a warm plate and tent with foil to rest and keep warm (chops will continue cooking a bit while resting, so don’t overdo it in the pan).

Add more butter to pan if needed. Saute the apples, fresh thyme, and onion until apples are crisp-tender. Add a generous splash of sherry and boil for 1 minute. Serve over the pork chops. Garnish each chop with fresh thyme.

These would be great over wild rice or quinoa, but I usually serve them alongside roasted broccoli with lemon and garlic.

2 thoughts on “One-skillet pork chops with sauteed apples and onions

  1. It still blows my mind every time you mention pork chops. I have no idea why I think you hate the things, or why I hold on to this stubborn misconception.

    Also, all your talk about balcony gardens made me realize you are now my go-to California blogger. Is vanilla garlic even active anymore…? Off to investigate!

Leave a Reply

