Creepy crudité with tzatziki

Happy Halloween, everyone! In recent years I’ve made some pretty elaborate costumes, like when my team at work went as Candyland characters and I was Ms Mint…

But this year I was off the hook. Some of my new coworkers dressed up; some didn’t. One brought in his little baby, who of course stole the show in a tiny Avengers costume. And we had a potluck.

I volunteered to bring veggies and dip, which I dubbed “creepy crudité” for holiday purposes. For a fun presentation, I hollowed out a small pumpkin and nestled a plastic tub of homemade tzatziki sauce inside. It turned out great, but for some reason my coworkers were more tempted by the chili, corn casserole, mac and cheese, and cupcakes!

Here’s my favorite tzatziki recipe which I found a long time ago on Kalyn’s Kitchen and have enjoyed making ever since.

Tzatziki Sauce (Makes about 3 1/2 cups)

  • 3 cups Greek yogurt (full-fat because low-fat is a bit too runny… and, yum!)
  • juice of one lemon (about 3 Tbsp)
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 2 medium cucumbers, seeded and diced
  • about 1 Tbsp kosher salt for salting cucumbers
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped fresh dill (or 1 tsp dried dill)
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste

Peel cucumbers, then cut in half lengthwise. Use a small spoon to scrape out and discard seeds. Dice cucumbers, then put in a colander, sprinkle on a tablespoon of salt, and let stand for 30 minutes to draw out water. Drain well and wipe dry with paper towel.

In food processor, add cucumbers, garlic, lemon juice, dill, and a few grinds of black pepper. Process until well blended, then stir this mixture into the yogurt. Taste, then add salt if needed. Place in refrigerator for at least two hours before serving (important!) so flavors can blend.

Keeps for a few days in the refrigerator — drain off any water and stir each time you use it.

4 thoughts on “Creepy crudité with tzatziki

  1. :p I forgot you had this going, I only go on the computer at school and forget about computer things when I get home hehehe, but I really like your costume! Even though it was a few weeks ago…

Leave a Reply

